Alphabetic Index : A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Search β):


United Arab Emirates

امارات متحده عربی

independent federation consisting of seven Arab emirates located on the south coast of the Persian Gulf and having as its capital the city of Abu Dhabi.Federation of seven states, eastern Arabian Peninsula including Abu Zab), Dubai, Ajman, Sharjah, Umm al-Qaywayn, Ras al-Kheymeh, and Al-Fujayrah.In 1820 the British signed a peace treaty with the region's coastal rulers. The area, formerly called the Pirate Coast, became known as the Trucial Coast. In 1892 the rulers agreed to entrust foreign relations to Britain. Although the British administered the region from 1843, they never assumed sovereignty; each state maintained full internal control. The states formed the Trucial States Council in 1960 and in 1971 terminated defense treaties with Britain and established the six-member federation. Ras al-Kheymeh joined it in 1972. The UAE aided coalition forces against Iraq in the Persian Gulf War (1991).

Tags:Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Arab, Britain, British, Dubai, Emirates, Iraq, Persian, Persian Gulf, Persian Gulf War, Sharjah, UAE, United Arab Emirates, Zab

Related History Articles:

Add definition or comments on UAE

Your Name / Alias:
Definition / Comments
neutral points of view
Source / SEO Backlink:
Anti-Spam Check
Enter text above
Upon approval, your definition will be listed under: UAE

Happy Shahrivargan 1393

Home About us / Contact    Products    Services    Iranian History Today    Top Iran Links    Iranian B2B Web Directory    Historical Glossary
Copyright @ 2004-2013 All Rights Iranian